Protecting Your Rights
Don’t Let Your Child Be Saddled With a Criminal Conviction
While underage drinking is common in Virginia, hundreds of college and high school students are charged with underage possession of alcohol each year at parties, in vehicles and at concerts and other events. In some cases, a young person may be charged because of his or her association with a group, even without proof that he or she was drinking.
If you or your child has been charged with underage possession of alcohol, you are probably concerned about how the charges may impact the future. An underage drinking conviction will stay on your criminal record, and it comes with a mandatory minimum fine of $500 (or 50 hours community service) and a mandatory six-month loss of license.
Extensive Experience With Underage Drinking Matters
At Nichols & Green PLLC, we have extensive experience defending clients against charges of underage possession and other student offenses. We can assist you in keeping your child’s record clean by:
- Effective criminal defense and trial techniques
- Negotiating with the prosecution to achieve a fair outcome and explore alternative sentencing options
- Utilizing community service and treatment options when they will prevent a criminal record
- Addressing underage DUI charges using forensic and technical knowledge
Contact a Prince William County Minor in Possession Defense Attorney
If you or your child is being charged with underage possession of alcohol in Prince William, Fairfax or northern Virginia, attorney at Nichols & Green PLLC can advise you regarding your rights and options. Contact us for a free consultation with a lawyer.